Finders Keepers Markets

After much anticipation this weekend I had the pleasure of attending the Finders Keepers Market in Melbourne, and it was every bit as awesome as I expected it to be. If you’re unfamiliar with The Finders Keepers, they are super-cool design and art markets held in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane, ‘dedicated in supporting emerging designers, artists & musicians and bringing new contemporary design to the forefront in Australia.’

The vibe at the markets was fantastic. I arrived mid-morning and already the venue was packed with keen shoppers, design and craft enthusiasts. There was live music, a cafe and bar and stalls selling everything from paper goods, textiles/homewares, jewellery… and so much more! It’s the perfect place to pick up gifts for those hard-to-buy-for people.

A few shops that caught my fancy (and that I made a wee purchase from!) were Sollis Jewellery, BLANK (pictured below) and Print Ink Studio. There are plenty more vendors that have online shops so definitely head over to the Finder Keepers site and check out their Designer Directory for more info and inspiration. I can safely say that I’ll definitely be at the next market with bells on! (Details of upcoming markets are at the bottom of this post.)

Next Market Dates for 2012:

Melbourne held at The Royal Exhibition Building:
Autumn/Winter – Friday 20th April (evening) & Saturday 21st April
Spring/Summer – Friday 19th October (evening) & Saturday 20th October

Brisbane held at The Old Museum:
Autumn/Winter – Saturday 7th July & Sunday 8th July
Spring/Summer – Saturday 3rd November & Sunday 4th November

Sydney held at CarriageWorks:
Autumn/Winter – Friday 1st June (evening) & Saturday 2nd June
Spring/Summer – Saturday 8th December (evening) & Sunday 9th December

For vendor application details please head here.
Top image from FK website, Sydney flyer design by Andrea Smith, event photos by Alison Owen.

TAGS:

2 Responses to Finders Keepers Markets

  1. Pingback: Rites of Passage – Melbourne | Jackie Magpie

  2. Pingback: Abby Seymour | Jackie Magpie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>